Past Catalyst for Change Gala



Thank you for being part of CACF’s inaugural Catalyst for Change Awards Gala at espace on Wednesday, October 25, 2017. With over 300 people in attendance, we raised over $230,000 that evening that will help CACF continue to drive systems change through pan-Asian coalition building and developing social justice leaders for the diverse Asian Pacific American community.


We were so happy to highlight our Catalyst for Change Awardees whose work and leadership have transformed lives and communities. Our honorees reflect CACF’s guiding principles of fostering collaboration, promoting community leadership, and building collective voice.


Lisa Ling

Award-Winning Journalist and TV Presenter


Suyin So

Founder and Executive Director, Central Queens Academy Charter School


Vishaan Chakrabarti

Author; Founder, Practice for Architecture and Urbanism


The New American Leaders Project

(accepted by Sayu Bhojwani, Founder and President)


We are grateful for our sponsors especially the Ong Family Foundation, Abigail E. Disney & Pierre Hauser, Bloomberg Philanthropies, and Edward Pauly & Barbara Turvett. We appreciate the support of our Gala Host Committee.


We are so proud of Sadaf Omar and Mike Yon, our youth leadership program (Asian American Student Advocacy Project – ASAP) alumni who joined us that evening to share the impact of being part of the program more than a decade ago. Now they are focused on improving our communities through jobs in government.


Many thanks to our emcees – Ernabel Demillo and CeFaan Kim who helped keep our evening on track.




2017 Catalyst for Change Awards Gala Program Journal2017 Catalyst for Change Awards Gala Press Release